The best job in the world

Jed recently introduced me to the song “Sacred” off the newest Caedmon’s Call CD.  At first I liked the song, but after listening to it over and over I love it even more.  It made me think about all the ways I am blessed to be able to stay at home and raise Josiah and keep the house and help serve and minister with Jed.  I’ve longed for these days where I am home, actually being a mom and a wife, not just playing “mom” with plastic dishes and Barbie dolls; and while there are days that are exhausting, I couldn’t imagine myself doing anything other than what I’m doing right now.  I love getting to play with Josiah in the floor, making him laugh, teaching him to roll over, grab his toes and try to sit up (not all at the same time).  I love that he is getting so big and playing on his own, and yet I hate it at the same time because it reminds me that the days are going by faster than I realize and I’ve got to make the most of each day.  I actually look forward to making my grocery list, planning my meals and trying out new recipes.  However, I’ve recently been trying to grill and have had more than one unsuccessful experience, but fortunately Jed really likes “hotdogs with black warts.” Thank you Jed for being such a hard worker and provider, so that I can stay home with Josiah.  I am so blessed to be married to you! 

 

More importantly, I am learning how my time spent reading the Bible, praying and reading other books is so crucial to my life, but so easily the first thing to get pushed out of my daily routine.  Some of the lyrics from this song say, ” teach me to run to You like they run to me for every little thing.  When I forget to drink from you, I can feel the banks harden.  Lord, make me like a stream to feed the garden.”  I don’t know if it’s just me, or if every first time mom struggled with fighting for time in the Word.  I didn’t realize how easy it would be to fill the days with laundry, cleaning, running errands, taking care of the family and then not making the time to “drink” from the Lord.  I did feel the “banks harden” and was left feeling like a desperate housewife, desperate for that deep, convicting and freeing daily communion with God.  I am seeing more and more how crucial it is going to be for me to be filled with the wisdom of the Word and being a prayer warrior for the family.  I’m a work in progress, but am thankful for the grace God has shown me so far.  Who knew being a homemaker could be so sanctifying? 

Here are the lyrics to “Sacred”:

this house is a good mess
it’s the proof of life
no way would I trade jobs
but it don’t pay overtime

I’ll get to the laundry
I don’t know when
I’m saying a prayer tonight
cause tomorrow it starts again

could it be that everything is sacred?
and all this time
everything I’ve dreamed of
has been right before my eyes

the children are sleeping
but they’re running through my mind
the sun makes them happy
and the music makes them unwind

my cup runneth over
and I worry about the stain
teach me to run to You
like they run to me for every little thing

when I forget to drink from you
I can feel the banks harden
Lord, make me like a stream
to feed the garden

wake up, little sleeper
the Lord, God Almighty
made your Mama keeper
so rise and shine
rise and shine cause

everything is sacred
and all this time
everything I’ve dreamed of
has been right before my eyes

3 responses to “The best job in the world

  • Granny Shusha

    Praise God, for a daughter-in-law like you! I am so blessed.

    I love you, your wonderful husband and that precious baby boy!!

    Granny Shusha

  • Chesed

    Wow- good start to the morning- knowing my dear brother and precious little nephew is being taken care of a woman like you.

  • Mandy Sandifer

    Melanie,
    Wow, this entry is so powerful! It makes me excited to be a “stay at home mom”! I been overwhelmed thinking about all the books I want to read before this baby gets here, but I too just have to remember that the most important thing is as you say, drinking from the Word and how that is going to prepare me more than anything to be a mother.

Leave a Reply

