Daily Archives: March 13, 2009

Sweet!

I found a recipe a while back claiming to produce perfect chocolate chip cookies.  I saved the recipe, but was skeptical about the outcome.  Yesterday I was craving chocolate, so I busted out the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I will have to say these are some pretty good cookies and the batter may be one of the best I’ve ever eaten.  The recipe calls for a lot of vanilla and I think that may be what makes them taste so good.  Jed and Josiah couldn’t stop eating them last night, so I know I succeeded!

Here is the perfect recipe:

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 sticks butter (meaning 1 cup butter)

3/4 cup white sugar

1 1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 eggs, slightly beaten

3 cups flour

3/4 teaspoons baking soda

3/4 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3 cups chocolate chips

In a mixer, cream the butter. Add the vanilla, sugar and slightly beaten eggs. Mix in the dry ingredients. Stir in the chocolate chips. Drop on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 11-13 minutes.

** Sidenote…I recently read that you are supposed to cream the butter for at least 3 minutes, never in my life had I done this, but last night I did and I do think that it helped.  I always use my kitchen aid, so y’all choosing the manual route, stretch before making these cookies-it will be a workout!